This article is for informational purposes only and no longer being updated by Seagate.

Using BlackArmor with Time Machine

Enabling and Disabling Time Machine

Mac users on your network can back up to and restore from the BlackArmor server using Time Machine. Time Machine is enabled on BlackArmor by default. Follow these steps to enable and disable backup from Time Machine and to select the backup directory.

  1. Log in to BlackArmor Manager.
  2. In the menu bar, select Storage and then click Backup Manager.
  3. Below Backup Server, click Time Machine.

The default volume is available as the backup location. You can use this volume or create a new volume if needed. (Click Storage > Volumes to create a new volume.) Click Clean up this repository if you want to remove all data from the directory designated for Time Machine backup. Before clicking this button, make sure that the volume you select is in a normal state.

  1. Click Submit to apply any changes you made.

    Make sure to create a user account for each Mac user requiring backup access to BlackArmor.

Backing up to BlackArmor Server in Time Machine

  1. Open Time Machine Preferences on the Mac.
  2. Turn Time Machine ON if it is off.
  3. Click Change Disk.
  4. Select the BlackArmor server from the menu.
  5. Click Use for Backup.

Users must enter their BlackArmor user name and password to complete the setup process.

Troubleshooting Apple Time Machine Issue:


  • There was a problem connecting to the server "BA-00XXAA.local"
  • Time Machine can’t access the backup disk "BA_Backup". The operation couldn’t be completed. (OSStatus error 2.)

Here are some troubleshooting steps:

  1. Clean up this repository.
    1. Go to the BlackArmor Manager Page -> Storage -> Backup Manager -> Backup Server.
    2. Click Time Machine.
    3. Select Disable.
    4. Click Submit.
    5. Select Enable.
    6. Click Clean up this repository.
    7. Select Enable.
    8. Click Submit.
  2. If cleaning the repository does not help, reboot the NAS unit.
  3. Try using a different User account credentials.
  4. Create a new User account and Share.
  5. Reflash the firmware