Seagate BlackArmor Manager: Overview of the User Feature

A User is one of the most foundational components to the BlackArmor NAS 440/420. It is the identity of a single personal that has access to resources on the unit. Once a User is created, there may be times that access to resources need to be modified to meet their changing needs. Then again, there are other times that call for the User’s removal.

All of these features can be found under the BlackArmor Manager’s Access – User option. This Article shows how to create, modify (change), and delete a User.

Procedures:

The following provides the steps necessary to Create, Modify or Delete a User. It is assumed that you are currently logged into the BlackArmor Manager with admin privileges.

To Create a User:

  1. In the menu bar, select Access, then click Users.
  2. Click the Add icon.
  3. Customize the account as required:
    • User Name: Name user enters when logging in
    • Admin Rights: Sets the user as a BlackArmor administrator
    • Full Name: User’s name
    • Password and Confirm Password: Up to 15 alphanumeric characters that user enters when logging in
    • Group: Group of users to which this account belongs, if any
    • Create User Private Share: Whether or not BlackArmor Manager should create a new private share for this account
    • Volume: Which volume (if there is more than one) the private share should be created in
    • Services: Which type(s) of file service should be supported by the private share
  4. Click Submit.

The new account appears in the list of user account

To Modify a User:

  1. In the menu bar, select Access, then click Users.
  2. Locate a user whose settings need to be changed and click the Modify icon.
  3. Customize the account as needed:
    • Admin Rights: Sets the user as a BlackArmor administrator
    • Full Name: User’s name
    • Password and Confirm Password: Up to 15 alphanumeric characters that user enters when logging in
    • Group: Group of users to which this account belongs, if any
  4. Click Submit. The account is modified.

To Delete a User:

  1. In the menu bar, select Access, then click Users.
  2. Locate the User you wish to remove and click the Delete icon.
  3. A Confirmation window asks if you want to delete the User account. Click the OK button. The User is deleted.

Seagate Video Tutorial – Overview of the User/Group/Share Feature

Click here to watch the movie to Create a User.
View Flash Guide

Click here to watch the movie to Modify a User.
View Flash Guide

Click here to watch the movie to Delete a User.
View Flash Guide





Please rate the helpfulness of this article