Seagate Dashboard - Social Media Share/Save


How to use the Share feature:
Share FAQ:
How to use the Save feature:
Save FAQ:

How to upload media to your social media site using Seagate Dashboard's "Share" feature.

Seagate Backup Plus drives include software with several features including software to assist in uploading content to Facebook, Flickr, or YouTube.  

This is a quick walkthrough of how to upload pictures to Facebook using Seagate Dashboard.
  1. Open Seagate Dashboard by double-clicking the Seagate Dashboard icon on the desktop.
  2. On the Home screen select the Social option.
  3. Select the Share button
  4. Select one of the available options and a new window will prompt you for your login credentials.
  5. Select the media you want to upload

Top of the page

Share FAQ:

Q: Can I upload files by selecting an entire folder for sharing, or do I have to select files one by one?
A: Yes. You can select an entire folder to upload to social media sites. However, be aware that some sites have restrictions on uploads, so the upload may not complete if you exceed any size or file number limits imposed by the service that you are using.

Q: Is there a limit in the number of uploads supported by my YouTube account?
A: Currently, YouTube restricts users to two video uploads per month. Please be sure to check the YouTube video upload policy for your account as this is subject to change and may vary by account type.

Q: Will this work with Flickr Pro?
A: No, this feature is not available with Flickr Pro.

Q: I am having issues logging into one of the features.
A: Try changing your default browser temporarily. 

Top of the page

How to save pictures from your social media site using Seagate Dashboard's "Save" feature.

Seagate Backup Plus drives include software with several features including software to assist in downloading content you previously uploaded to social media sites.  

This is a quick walkthrough of how to save pictures from Facebook using Seagate Dashboard.
  1. Open Seagate Dashboard by double-clicking the Seagate Dashboard icon on the desktop.
  2. On the Home screen select the Social option.
  3. Select the Save button.
  4. Select one of the available options and a new window will prompt you for login credentials.
The pictures will be saved in a folder named My Online Documents on your Backup Plus Hard drive by default.  

If the backup runs while the Backup Plus Hard drive is not connected, the files will instead be saved in a folder named My Online Documents in your user folder on your boot drive.
 
They can be found in the following locations:

Windows Vista/7/8/8.1:   C:\Users\UserName\My Online Documents
Windows XP:  C:\Documents and Settings\UserName\My Online Documents\ 
MacOS:  Users/UserName/My Online Documents

You can click the My Online Documents link to change the default folder where your files are saved or click the magnifying glass icon to browse the saved files.

Top of the page

Save FAQ:

Q: If I check the ‘Auto Save’ feature in the Save feature, how often is my content backed up from my account?
A: Content is saved from your social media account once per hour when the Auto Save feature is enabled.

Q: What resolution of photos and videos get saved from Facebook and Flickr® in the Dashboard?
A: When uploading files to social media sites such as Facebook, the resolution of photos and videos are frequently reduced to optimize the file for use on the web. This means that the files saved by the Dashboard will be in the reduced web resolution supported by the social media site that you are using.
When uploading photos to Facebook, be sure to select the high-resolution option to maximize the quality of your photos.

Q: Can "Save" back up my wall messages and inbox on Facebook?
A: The Dashboard is designed to only save photo and video content from your social media account.

Q: Does the Save feature save the captions I used on my pictures?
A: If your photo included a caption, the Seagate Dashboard will save your photo with your caption as a part of the file name.

Q: Where are my photos and videos saved to when I enable the Save feature? Can I change the default location?
A: Your photos and videos are saved by default to your computer in a folder called My Online Documents. To browse this folder, click on the magnifying glass icon on Save feature tab. A Finder or Windows/File Explorer window will automatically open showing you the content that you have saved. Photos and videos will be stored first by the social media site, then be placed in sub-folders that are created based on the albums in your account.
To change the default location, click on the default folder link that is next to the magnifying glass. You will then be asked to select a new destination, or create a new folder.

Q: Will this work with Flickr Pro?
A: No, this feature is not available with Flickr Pro.

Q: I am having issues logging into one of the features.
A: Try changing your default browser temporarily. 

Top of the page



Please rate the helpfulness of this article