How can I restore a file or folder from my Seagate Dashboard Backup if I accidentally modified and saved it?

How can I restore a file or folder from my Seagate Dashboard Backup if I accidentally modified and saved it?


If you modify a file on your computer by mistake, Seagate Dashboard allows you to restore historical versions of specific files. This article explains.

If you modify a file on your computer by mistake, Seagate Dashboard allows you to restore historical versions of specific files.

To restore a historical version of a specific file, follow the procedure below.

  1. Launch the Seagate Dashboard.
  2. On the Home screen, click the Protect option.


     
  3. Click on the Restore Files button.


     
  4. Here it will list all of the backup plans you have on this computer. Select the plan that contains the version you want to restore.



    If the backup plan you need to restore from was made on a different computer, you will need to first click on the Search for Backups button near the top right corner of that screen.
    Then click on Select Files at the bottom of the screen.
  5. From here a list of dates will display from which you can restore the file.
    Choose a date prior to when you made the undesired modification.
  6. Navigate through the folder structure to the file or folder you want to restore. Select the file or folder by putting a check in the field to the left of that file or folder.


     
  7. If you want to restore the file to the original location and the backup was performed on the same computer:
    Click on the checkmark icon to complete the restore.

    If you want to select the location to restore the file and/or your backup was performed on a different computer:
    Once you have the file(s) selected that you want to restore, click on the Original Location button at the bottom of the screen.
  8. Select a location to restore your files. Once you have selected your preferred location, click on the check mark button in the bottom right corner. That will start the restore process and a progress bar will display.



    When the progress bar is fully illuminated and a check mark icon replaces it in that window, the restore is complete.
    It will also say "Successfully restored to (the selected location)." at the top.





Subscribe

Language


Did this article answer your question?


How could we make this article more helpful?