How to make a backup before upgrading to Windows 8


Before upgrading to Windows 8, Seagate recommends you backup your data so you can safely update your Dashboard software. This article explains.

Backup Plus drives will work on both Windows 7 and Windows 8.
If you have a backup you created using the Backup Plus Dashboard software in Windows 7, you can restore that data after updating to Windows 8. This article provides instructions for backing up and then restoring the data.

Backing Up Your Data
Please use the procedure as described in Document ID: 004317 to backup your data.
For additional information, the following  review the backup tutorial videos:

  1. How to Create a New Customized Backup Plan
  2. How to Create a Continuous Backup Using the Seagate Dashboard

Updating Dashboard Software
After upgrading to Windows 8, please use this procedure to update to the latest version of Dashboard, which is compatible with Windows 8.

  1. Open Seagate Dashboard by double-clicking the Seagate Dashboard 2.0 icon on the desktop.


     
  2. Click the Settings icon () in the upper right of the screen.


     
  3. Click the Updates tab.
  4. Click the Check for Updates button.
    If an update is available, follow the on-screen instructions.

Restoring Your Data
Once your software has updated, please use the following procedure to restore your data:

  1. Click the Protect button on the Dashboard Home screen.


     
  2. Click the Restore Files button.


     
  3. Choose the Backup you want to restore.
    If the backup you want is not listed, click the Find Backups button.
  4. Choose Select Files at the bottom of the screen to choose which files to restore.
  5. Check the boxes next to the files you want to restore.
     Do not select the Windows folder to restore, if it is available. Doing so might overwrite your new Windows 8 operating system files with older Windows 7 files.
  6. Here you can change where the files will restore to.  Choose from the displayed libraries if you are restoring files like music or documents, or you can choose another folder if you like.
    The default folders for a given user are found under the Users folder, under the name of the user.



    You can choose to restore data to the original location if you prefer. However, if you did not use the same username, it is probably best to restore the files to the new user’s folder.

    If you want to restore data to the original location, select the Original Location button at the bottom of the screen.
  7. Click the check mark icon to begin the restore.



    Please also see our Restore tutorial video.




Subscribe

Language


Did this article answer your question?


How could we make this article more helpful?