Why does the Seagate Dashboard software prompt for my Facebook login each time I use the Share or Save feature?


Provides information about the interaction between the Backup Plus Dashboard software and its Facebook integration.
Facebook recently changed how it interacts with outside applications. The Dashboard has been updated to work with the new standard and is currently being tested. Seagate expects an updated version of the Dashboard to be released soon.
In the meantime, you may notice that you have to login to Facebook every time you attempt to upload pictures to Facebook through the Save feature of Seagate Dashboard.
See below for details on how to check for updates and a workaround option if the Save feature is not working due to login failure.
To check for Dashboard updates:
  1. Open Seagate Dashboard by double-clicking the Seagate Dashboard 2.0 icon on the desktop.



    For MacOS, this icon will be in the Applications folder.
  2. Click the Settings icon () in the upper right of the screen.


     
  3. Click the Update tab.
  4. Click the Check for Updates button.
  5. If an update is available, there will be a prompt to download and install it.

The update will be available in July 2012.
In some cases, the Save feature will stop working. In that case, reset the Save feature:

  1. On the Dashboard Home screen, click the Share feature.


     
  2. Click the X button in the corner of the Facebook icon (the X only becomes visible when the mouse cursor is hovering over the Facebook button).


     
  3. Click the Facebook icon to login again.
  4. Once the login has successfully completed, click Home.


     
  5. Click back into the Save feature.





Subscribe

Language


Did this article answer your question?


How could we make this article more helpful?